The best USB hubs depend on which ports you need, whether you want display output or charging, and how many devices will stay connected at your desk. These picks range from compact USB-C adapters to powered multiport hubs, so check your host connection and each port’s role before choosing.
Quick Top Products
SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub HB-TG5P
SABRENT USB-C Hub HB-SHPU
SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Dock HB-6PNV
j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub JCD373EC
SABRENT USB-C 5-in-1 Hub HB-U3CR
SmallRig 4-in-1 USB-C Hub 4598
SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub HB-PU16
SABRENT 10-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub HB-B7C3
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub HB-BU10
SABRENT USB-C 3-Port Gaming Hub HB-STDK
Fast USB-C Ports and 4K Display
SABRENT USB C Hub 5-in-1, 10Gbps USB-A & USB-C Ports, Single 4K@60Hz HDMI, 100W PD Input, 80W Laptop Charging, Compact Aluminum Docking Station for MacBook, iPad, Laptops & Tablets (HB-TG5P)

This compact hub combines two USB-A and two USB-C data ports rated for up to 10Gbps with HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz. Its dedicated USB-C PD input passes up to 80W to the laptop when connected to a 100W charger, which is useful for keeping a desk setup connected through one host port.
The integrated 60cm cable gives some placement flexibility. The charger is not included, and HDMI features depend on host support: DisplayPort Alternate Mode is required, while extended desktop mode also requires MST support.
Best For: USB-C laptop owners who want fast peripheral ports, 4K output, and laptop power pass-through.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Choose this model if fast USB-C data, HDMI, and laptop charging all need to share one hub. Its data ports are faster than the 5Gbps USB-A expansion on simpler adapters, while the 80W pass-through is below the 100W charger input.
Confirm that the laptop supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode, and check for MST if you need extended desktop output. Budget for a separate 100W PD charger.
Travel-Friendly 4K and 90W Pass-Through
SABRENT Multi-Port USB-C Hub with Power Delivery, HDMI Out, 3 USB A Ports, 4K@60Hz, 90W PD, Aluminum [HB-SHPU]

The HB-SHPU is a straightforward travel hub for a compatible USB-C laptop or tablet. It combines three USB-A ports, HDMI 2.0 output up to 4K at 60Hz, and PD 3.0 pass-through up to 90W.
One USB-A port supports transfers up to 5Gbps; the other two are USB 2.0 ports suited to keyboards, mice, and similar accessories. Its aluminum casing and integrated 15cm cable keep the setup compact.
The host must support DisplayPort Alternate Mode for HDMI, and the hub’s USB-C connection is for the host rather than additional USB-C data peripherals.
Best For: Travelers who need HDMI, common USB-A accessories, and USB-C power delivery in one small adapter.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
This is a good fit when a travel bag calls for a single small adapter with display output and charging pass-through. It provides up to 90W PD, while its data expansion is weighted toward slower USB 2.0 accessories: reserve the 5Gbps port for storage and use the others for low-bandwidth devices.
Check the laptop’s USB-C video support and bring a compatible PD charger if you plan to charge through the hub.
Docking Hub with M.2 Storage
SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure, 6-Port Dock with M.2 SSD Slot, 90W Power Delivery, USB 3.0 & 2.0 Ports, 4K HDMI, RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet (HB-6PNV)

The HB-6PNV adds more than peripheral ports: it combines three USB-A connections with HDMI, Gigabit Ethernet, power pass-through, and an internal M.2 slot. The slot accepts M.2 SATA or NVMe SSDs in 2242, 2260, or 2280 form factors, and connects at up to 5Gbps.
HDMI supports up to 4K at 60Hz on a host with DisplayPort Alternate Mode, while PD pass-through reaches up to 90W. This makes it useful as a compact workstation dock, especially where wired networking and portable storage matter.
The SSD is not identified as included, and the hub’s USB-A ports mix 5Gbps and USB 2.0 speeds.
Best For: USB-C laptop users who want Ethernet, an external display, and an installable M.2 SSD in one hub.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Pick this hub if Ethernet and installable M.2 storage are central to the setup; those features distinguish it from simpler HDMI adapters. Confirm that the SSD you plan to use is M.2 SATA or NVMe in one of the supported form factors, and account for the 5Gbps connection ceiling.
For a faster external drive workflow, a hub focused on 10Gbps data ports may be a better match.
Seven-Port Laptop Adapter with SD Slots
j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub with Power Delivery with 4K HDMI/2 USB-A 5Gbps/PD 100W Charging SD&Micro SD/3.5mm Audio | for MacBook Pro&Air/iPad Pro/iMac/Surface/XPS/Thinkpad/Galaxy/and More(JCD373EC)

This 7-in-1 USB-C adapter combines two USB-A ports, an HDMI output, USB-C power delivery, an audio jack, and SD and microSD card readers. The HDMI port supports up to 4K at 30Hz, while PD input is rated up to 100W, making it a useful one-cable expansion option for a compatible laptop.
Its port mix is helpful for presentations, headphones, and photo-card access without bringing separate readers. Check the laptop’s USB-C capabilities before buying and confirm that the 30Hz display ceiling suits your monitor workflow.
The supplied details do not specify the card reader’s transfer rate.
Best For: Laptop users who want a mixed-port travel adapter with HDMI, audio, and SD card access.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
This j5create adapter makes sense when audio and memory-card access are as important as basic USB expansion. Its 100W PD rating is useful for charging, while the HDMI port supports media display at resolutions up to 4K@30Hz.
Check whether your host supports the needed video and charging features. If you mainly need faster file transfers, compare the port speeds carefully.
Card Reader and Three Fast USB-A Ports
SABRENT USB-C 3.0 Hub, 5-in-1 USB SD Card Reader, SD & TF Dual Slot + 3 USB 3.0 Hub Portable Compatible with MacBook, Mac Pro/Mini, iMac, XPS, Surface Pro, Windows, Thunderbolt (HB-U3CR)

This USB-C hub focuses on data connections and memory cards. It has three USB 3.0 Type-A ports with transfer speeds up to 5Gbps, plus a built-in reader for SD, SDHC, and microSD cards.
The compact port mix can suit a laptop workflow that uses card readers, flash storage, or wired peripherals. It is plug and play and hot swappable according to its feature details.
The record does not specify HDMI output or power delivery, so treat this as a data-expansion hub rather than a display dock or charging solution. Check the host port type and card formats before purchasing.
Best For: Photographers and mobile creators who need SD or microSD access alongside USB-A peripherals.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Choose the HB-U3CR when memory cards and USB-A data devices are the main need. Its three USB 3.0 ports support data transfer up to 5Gbps, making them useful for external storage.
Display and charging features are not specified. Check that your workflow uses SD, SDHC, or microSD and that your laptop has the right USB-C host connection.
If monitor output or laptop charging is essential, choose a hub that explicitly includes those functions.
Cold-Shoe Hub for Mobile Video
SmallRig 4-in-1 USB-C Hub with Cold Shoe Mount

SmallRig’s compact 4-in-1 hub is designed for mobile shooting setups. It has a PD charging port, one USB-C 3.1 interface rated for up to 10Gbps, and two USB-C 2.0 interfaces.
The hub supports up to 100W PD and includes a cold shoe mount that can attach to a standard cold shoe or clamp onto equipment. That combination can keep a phone charging while connecting compatible USB-C audio gear and storage.
The 38.3 g body is portable, though this is a specialized USB-C hub rather than a general-purpose adapter with HDMI or USB-A ports. Verify device and app compatibility for your recording workflow.
Best For: Mobile video shooters who want USB-C data, charging, and accessory mounting around a phone rig.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
This is the specialized choice for a phone-centered video rig, where a cold shoe and USB-C audio connections may matter more than conventional laptop ports. It supports up to 100W PD and a 10Gbps USB-C 3.1 interface, but its other two USB-C ports are USB 2.0.
Confirm the phone, microphone, and recording app support your intended setup. For a desktop or general laptop expansion job, a hub with HDMI or USB-A would be more versatile.
High-Capacity Powered USB-A Expansion
SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Data Hub and Charger with Individual Power Switches, 90W High-Power Output (HB-PU16)

This powered USB-A hub offers sixteen downstream USB 3.0 ports, with data transfer speeds up to 5Gbps and backward compatibility with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1. Individual blue LEDs indicate power status at each port, and the hub supports plug-and-play and hot-swappable use.
It suits a fixed desk where many peripherals need to remain connected at once. The large port count does not add USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet, or card-reader slots, and the provided details do not identify an included power adapter.
Check what the included power supply covers and whether the host connection matches your computer before placing a large set of devices on it.
Best For: Desk setups that need many USB-A connections for storage, card readers, and other peripherals.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Choose the HB-PU16 when the main problem is too few USB-A ports at a desk. Its 16 downstream ports support super-speed transmissions up to 5Gbps and are compatible with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices.
It does not consolidate display output, Ethernet, or USB-C devices. Check the host connector and power arrangements before connecting several bus-powered devices.
If only a handful of accessories need to stay attached, a smaller powered hub may be easier to place.
Ten Ports with Dedicated Charging
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub, Individual Power Switches and LEDs, 3 Smart Charging Ports, 60W Power Adapter, for PC, Mac, Xbox, PS5, Laptop, Desktop, USB Devices (HB-B7C3)

The HB-B7C3 splits its ten-port layout between up to seven USB 3.0 data devices and three dedicated charging ports. Its data ports support transfers up to 5Gbps, while each charging port is rated up to 2.4A.
A 60W, 12V/5A power adapter is included, and each port has an individual power switch with an LED indicator. This is a practical fit for a fixed workspace that connects drives and peripherals while charging portable devices.
The charging ports are separate from the data connections, so confirm which devices need computer access and which only need power.
Best For: A desk setup that needs multiple USB-A data connections plus separate charging ports.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
This model is a better fit than a plain data hub when the desk has both computer peripherals and devices that only need charging. It provides up to seven 5Gbps data connections and three separate charging ports, with an included 60W adapter.
Map your devices to the right port type before buying: charging-only connections will not serve as computer data links. If you need fewer ports, a four-port powered model is a smaller alternative.
Ten-Port Hub with Individual Controls
SABRENT 10-Port 60W USB 3.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs, Includes 60W 12V/5A Power Adapter (HB-BU10)

This ten-port USB 3.0 hub is built around data expansion and individual control. It supports transfer speeds up to 5Gbps, and each port has a switch with a blue LED to show power status.
Its mirrored finish and compact design suit a desk where peripherals and drives stay attached. Plug-and-play setup does not require a driver.
The product title identifies a 60W 12V/5A power adapter, but the supplied feature notes do not describe port-by-port charging behavior or whether any ports are reserved for charging. Check those details if powering several devices is a primary reason for buying.
Best For: Users who want ten USB-A data ports with individual switches at a powered desk setup.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Choose the HB-BU10 if you want ten switched USB 3.0 data ports and do not need a mixed USB-C or display dock. Its port-level switches are useful for leaving devices connected while controlling their power individually.
The title includes a 60W adapter, but the available details do not establish dedicated charging ports or simultaneous throughput behavior. Check those points against the devices you expect to connect, especially if charging is part of the plan.
Steam Deck and Handheld Gaming Hub
SABRENT USB-C 3-Port Gaming Hub for Steam Deck, PD (HB-STDK) | 5Gbps USB 3.2; dual USB-A ports; PD charging; compact; for Steam Deck & handhelds

The HB-STDK is a small USB-C hub shaped for Steam Deck use, including Steam Deck OLED. It connects through USB-C and adds two USB-A ports plus a USB-C port with PD 3.0 power delivery.
The upstream connection supports 5Gbps, and the hub is also compatible with Windows, macOS, Linux, SteamOS, and other USB-C host devices. That makes it a focused option for handheld play with a controller, storage device, or charging connection attached.
It does not provide HDMI output in the supplied details, so it is not a complete TV-dock substitute. Verify the charging arrangement and accessories needed for your setup.
Best For: Steam Deck owners who want a compact hub with USB-A peripherals and USB-C power delivery.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
This is the focused pick for Steam Deck owners who want a small port expansion setup while playing handheld. It adds two USB-A connections and a USB-C PD port, but the listed details do not establish HDMI output or a PD wattage.
Check the power needs of the Deck and whether you need a separate dock for a television or monitor. For general laptop use with display output, one of the larger USB-C adapters fits better.
How to Choose Usb Hubs
How We Picked USB Hubs
The candidates span several kinds of USB expansion, so this guide favors distinct jobs over a list of near-identical port multipliers. The selected models cover USB-C laptop travel, HDMI and charging, M.2 storage and Ethernet, memory-card access, mobile video, handheld gaming, and powered desk setups with many USB-A connections.
For a laptop hub, the useful questions are whether it adds the ports you use and whether those ports do what you expect. A USB-C connector may be a host connection, a power input, or a data port.
HDMI support also depends on host video capability, so check DisplayPort Alternate Mode compatibility before relying on display output.
Comparing USB Hubs for Laptop and Desk Setups
The compact USB-C options serve different needs. SABRENT’s HB-TG5P combines four 10Gbps data ports with HDMI at up to 4K/60Hz and up to 80W laptop pass-through; the HB-SHPU offers three USB-A ports, HDMI at up to 4K/60Hz, and up to 90W PD, but only one USB-A port is 5Gbps.
The j5create adapter adds audio and SD/microSD readers, with 4K output capped at 30Hz.
The HB-6PNV adds Gigabit Ethernet and an M.2 SSD slot, while the HB-U3CR is a simpler card-reading hub with three 5Gbps USB-A ports. SmallRig’s 4598 is aimed at phone video rigs, and the HB-STDK targets Steam Deck expansion.
For a desk with many connected devices, the HB-PU16 maximizes USB-A count; the two 10-port SABRENT models divide their focus between charging ports and switched data ports.
| Product | Standout features | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub HB-TG5PCheck Price |
| USB-C laptop owners who want fast peripheral ports, 4K output, and laptop power pass-through. |
| SABRENT USB-C Hub HB-SHPUCheck Price |
| Travelers who need HDMI, common USB-A accessories, and USB-C power delivery in one small adapter. |
| SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Dock HB-6PNVCheck Price |
| USB-C laptop users who want Ethernet, an external display, and an installable M.2 SSD in one hub. |
| j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub JCD373ECCheck Price |
| Laptop users who want a mixed-port travel adapter with HDMI, audio, and SD card access. |
| SABRENT USB-C 5-in-1 Hub HB-U3CRCheck Price |
| Photographers and mobile creators who need SD or microSD access alongside USB-A peripherals. |
| SmallRig 4-in-1 USB-C Hub 4598Check Price |
| Mobile video shooters who want USB-C data, charging, and accessory mounting around a phone rig. |
| SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub HB-PU16Check Price |
| Desk setups that need many USB-A connections for storage, card readers, and other peripherals. |
| SABRENT 10-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub HB-B7C3Check Price |
| A desk setup that needs multiple USB-A data connections plus separate charging ports. |
| SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub HB-BU10Check Price |
| Users who want ten USB-A data ports with individual switches at a powered desk setup. |
| SABRENT USB-C 3-Port Gaming Hub HB-STDKCheck Price |
| Steam Deck owners who want a compact hub with USB-A peripherals and USB-C power delivery. |
Choosing a USB-C Hub for Your Laptop
Count the actual data ports you need, then separate them from charging inputs and display outputs. For example, the HB-SHPU has three USB-A ports, but two are USB 2.0; the HB-TG5P offers USB-A and USB-C data at up to 10Gbps.
The j5create option includes SD and microSD access, but its HDMI output tops out at 4K/30Hz.
Power pass-through figures describe what the hub can deliver to a host when a compatible charger is attached. The HB-TG5P needs a separate 100W charger to pass up to 80W to the laptop; the HB-SHPU supports up to 90W.
Match the hub’s input and pass-through arrangement to the laptop’s charging needs, and verify that the host USB-C port supports video if you plan to connect a monitor.
USB Hubs for Storage, Cards, and Wired Networking
A card reader saves space when moving photos or files from removable media. The HB-U3CR supports SD, SDHC, and microSD alongside three USB-A ports rated up to 5Gbps, while the j5create adds SD and microSD to a broader adapter with audio and HDMI.
Neither record supplies a card-reader transfer rate, so check that detail if card ingest speed matters.
For a wired network and internal portable storage, the HB-6PNV combines Gigabit Ethernet with an M.2 slot that supports SATA or NVMe drives in 2242, 2260, or 2280 sizes. Its SSD connection is up to 5Gbps.
Confirm the drive’s interface and physical form factor before buying, and account for an SSD as a separate item unless the package contents confirm otherwise.
Powered USB Hubs for a Busy Desk
Powered hubs can be easier to place in a fixed setup where several peripherals remain connected. The HB-B7C3 combines up to seven USB 3.0 data devices with three dedicated charging ports and a 60W adapter.
The HB-BU10 provides ten switched USB 3.0 ports and a title-listed 60W adapter, but its charging-port arrangement is not specified. The 16-port HB-PU16 is for users who prioritize connection count.
Port count alone does not answer whether every device can run at full speed or receive the power it needs. Separate charging-only ports from data ports, check the included adapter details, and consider whether individual switches and status lights help manage devices that stay attached.
These differences matter more at a desk than in a travel kit.
Who Should Buy Which USB Hub
Choose the HB-TG5P for fast USB-A and USB-C data with 4K/60Hz output, or the HB-SHPU if a compact travel hub with 90W pass-through and familiar USB-A ports is the priority. The j5create suits users who need audio and memory-card slots in one adapter, while the HB-6PNV is the better fit when wired Ethernet and M.2 storage are part of the plan.
Pick the HB-U3CR for SD or microSD access with USB-A data ports, or SmallRig’s hub for a phone video rig that uses a cold shoe. Steam Deck players can start with the compact HB-STDK.
At a desk, choose the HB-B7C3 for distinct charging and data ports, the HB-BU10 for switched ten-port data expansion, or the HB-PU16 when maximum USB-A port count is the deciding factor. Check host compatibility, power arrangement, and the connection types you actually use before ordering.